Toyota Camry Maintenance Schedule (8th Gen, 2.5L & Hybrid)
2026 Camry schedule →Camry gas and hybrid service intervals by model year: oil, inverter coolant, hybrid battery filter, brakes, spark plugs — real costs and the upsells to decline.
What's due on your Camry?
Enter your odometer above to see what's due now →
- 0 Due now
- 0 Within 5,000 mi
- 0 Later
Service intervals
From the 2025–2026 Toyota Camry (XV80) schedule.
| Service | Every | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Engine Oil & FilterSafety itemReplace every 10,000 mi or 12 months, even if the maintenance reminder has not appeared. SAE 0W-8 (JASO GLV-1); 0W-16 may be used only until the next change, then back to 0W-8. Capacity with filter: 4.5 qt (4.3 L). Severe: 2025 guide replaces every 5,000 mi when driving on dirt/dusty/muddy roads or roads with melted snow; 2026 guide 'every 5,000 miles or 6 months' when mainly driven on dirt or dusty roads. Towing, short trips and idling are no longer listed as oil triggers in either guide. | 10,000 mi / 12 mo≈ 16,000 km / 12 mo | |
| Tire RotationRotate every 5,000 mi (chart 'P' at every 5k); the guide's cadence is 'every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first'. | 5,000 mi / 6 mo≈ 8,000 km / 6 mo | |
| Cabin Air FilterReplace every 10,000 mi (R at 10, 20, 30 ...). Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 10,000 mi≈ 16,000 km | |
| Engine Air FilterReplace every 30,000 mi (R at 30, 60, 90, 120, 150). Severe (dirt/dusty roads): inspect at every 5,000-mile service. Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 30,000 mi≈ 48,000 km | |
| Spark PlugsReplace at 120,000 mi; 'Required under the terms of the Emissions Control Warranty.' DENSO FC16HR-Q8, gap 0.031 in (0.8 mm). Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 120,000 mi≈ 193,000 km | |
| Engine CoolantSafety itemFirst replacement at 100,000 mi / 120 months, then every 50,000 mi / 60 months. Toyota Super Long Life Coolant. Capacity (reference): gasoline engine 6.4 qt (6.1 L). | 100,000 mi / 120 mo≈ 161,000 km / 120 mo | |
| Inverter Coolant (Hybrid) (eCVT (hybrid transaxle) only)First replacement at 150,000 mi / 180 months, then every 50,000 mi / 60 months. Capacity (reference): power control unit 1.9 qt (1.8 L). | 150,000 mi / 180 mo≈ 241,000 km / 180 mo | |
| Brake Fluid (inspect level/condition)'All Fluid Levels' inspected at every 5,000-mile service; footnote 1 includes 'brake fluid level/condition'. No replacement scheduled. | 5,000 mi≈ 8,000 km | |
| Brake InspectionSafety itemBrake linings/drums and pads/discs inspected every 5,000 mi; thickness measurement and disc runout every 30,000 mi (2026 footnote: 'Visually inspect every 5,000 miles, and inspect thickness and disc runout every 30,000 miles.'). Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 5,000 mi≈ 8,000 km | |
| Hybrid Transaxle Fluid (eCVT, inspect) (eCVT (hybrid transaxle) only)Chart row 'Automatic Transmission Fluid': normal I at 30, 60, 90, 120, 150. Severe (towing, car-top carrier or heavy vehicle loading): replace at 60,000 and 120,000 mi (2026 also inspects at 30k/90k under towing). Capacity (reference): 3.88 qt (3.67 L), Toyota Genuine e-Transaxle fluid TE. Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 30,000 mi≈ 48,000 km | |
| Rear Differential Fluid (AWD rear e-motor, inspect) (eCVT (hybrid transaxle) only)2026 guide only: 'Rear Differential Oil (if applicable)' inspected every 30,000 mi (normal). Severe (towing/car-top carrier/heavy loading): inspect at 30k/90k, replace at 60k and 120k. The 2025 guide has no normal-schedule rear-differential item (replace at 60k/120k under towing only). Capacity (reference): 1.52 qt (1.44 L), Toyota Genuine e-Transaxle fluid TE. Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 30,000 mi≈ 48,000 km | |
| Drive Shaft Nut Re-torque (AWD)2025: 'Drive Shaft Nut (AWD only)'; 2026: 'Drive Shaft Nuts or Bolts (if applicable)'. Torque every 15,000 mi (T at 15, 30, 45); severe (dirt/dusty roads) at every 5,000-mile service. Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 15,000 mi≈ 24,000 km | |
| HV Battery Cooling Intake Filter (clean) (eCVT (hybrid transaxle) only)'HV Battery Cooling Intake Filter' (2026: 'HEV Battery Cooling Intake Filter'): I at every 5k, C (clean) at 20, 40, 60 ... Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 20,000 mi≈ 32,000 km | |
| Suspension & Steering InspectionBall joints and dust covers, drive shaft boots, steering gear, steering linkage and boots, brake lines and hoses: I at 15, 30, 45 ... Severe (dirt/dusty roads) more often. Chart gives miles only; months not stated for this item (the guide's general rule is service every 5,000 miles or six months, whichever comes first). | 15,000 mi≈ 24,000 km |
≈ converted from the other unit and rounded.
Contents
The eighth-generation Camry (2018+) is available with a naturally aspirated 2.5L four-cylinder and the Camry Hybrid, which pairs the same 2.5L Atkinson-cycle engine with a permanent magnet electric motor system. The conventional Camry is straightforward to maintain. The Hybrid has one maintenance gap that most shops miss entirely: two separate cooling systems — the standard engine coolant and the HV battery/inverter coolant. These require independent service, and failing to service the HV system causes inverter and hybrid battery failures that cost $3,000–$8,000 to repair.
Oil Changes — Conventional vs Hybrid
The Camry's oil intervals are longer than most owners expect, and the Hybrid's intervals are longer still. Both engines are well-suited to Toyota's extended change recommendations.
- 2.5L A25A-FKS (Conventional, XLE / XSE / SE): Toyota 0W-20 Full Synthetic, every 10,000 miles or 12 months. Toyota's Maintenance Reminder System alerts at 10,000-mile intervals — this is correct for the A25A-FKS. The engine does not have the oil dilution tendency seen in some direct-injection engines.
- 2.5L A25A-FXS (Hybrid): Toyota 0W-16 Full Synthetic, every 10,000 miles. The Atkinson-cycle engine in the Hybrid runs at lower loads and temperatures than a conventional gasoline engine — oil life is genuinely extended. Toyota 0W-16 is a specific ultra-low-viscosity oil; do not substitute with 0W-20 (common shop error — the Hybrid requires 0W-16).
- TRD V6 models: The Camry TRD used the 3.5L 2GR-FKS V6. Toyota 0W-20 Full Synthetic, every 10,000 miles. The V6 is not available on 2018+ models in most trim configurations — confirm your engine before referencing this interval.
- Shop error to watch for: Shops unfamiliar with Hybrid models sometimes fill with 0W-20 instead of the required 0W-16. The oil specification is printed on the oil filler cap and in the owner's manual — confirm the viscosity before the shop starts the oil change.
Transmission Fluid
- Conventional Camry — 8-speed automatic (AA80E / UA80F): Toyota Genuine ATF WS, every 60,000 miles. Toyota's manual says "inspect" — change proactively at 60,000 miles. The 8-speed automatic is sensitive to ATF quality; rough shifting at low speeds is the first symptom of degraded fluid.
- Camry Hybrid — e-CVT: The Hybrid uses Toyota's e-CVT, which is technically a power-split transaxle rather than a conventional CVT. It uses Toyota Genuine ATF WS in the transaxle. Toyota specifies "inspect at 60,000 miles" — change at 60,000 miles and every 60,000 miles thereafter.
- Common shop confusion: Some shops treat the Hybrid e-CVT as similar to a conventional CVT and attempt to flush it with generic CVT fluid. The Hybrid transaxle requires Toyota ATF WS — confirm before any fluid service.
Plugs, Brake Fluid, and Cooling
- Spark plugs (Hybrid): Iridium plugs (Denso SK16HR11 or OEM equivalent), every 120,000 miles. The Atkinson-cycle engine runs at lower combustion temperatures than a conventional gasoline engine — plugs last significantly longer.
- Spark plugs (Conventional): Iridium plugs, every 60,000–90,000 miles depending on trim. Check your owner's manual for the specific interval — the A25A-FKS uses a different plug heat range than the Hybrid engine.
- Brake fluid: Toyota specifies every 3 years or 45,000 miles. Hybrid models may accumulate less brake wear (due to regenerative braking) but the fluid still absorbs moisture over time — the 3-year interval is correct regardless.
- Engine coolant: Toyota Super Long Life Coolant (pink SLLC), change at 100,000 miles, then every 50,000 miles. Do not mix with green conventional coolant. On Hybrid models, remember this is the engine circuit only — the HV battery and inverter circuits require separate service.
- Cabin air filter: Every 15,000–25,000 miles. Not tracked by Toyota's Maintenance Reminder System — inspect annually.
Intervals are based on Toyota factory service documents and real-world guidance from Camry Hybrid owner communities. HV battery and inverter coolant intervals are from Toyota's Hybrid-specific service manual — these services are often omitted from general dealer service menus and must be specifically requested.
The Camry is one of the best-selling and most reliable sedans in history — and the Hybrid adds exceptional fuel economy to that reliability record. For conventional Camry owners, follow the maintenance reminder. For Hybrid owners: the 0W-16 oil spec and the HV battery + inverter coolant service at 100,000 miles are the two items that separate Hybrids that reach 200,000 miles from those that require expensive drivetrain repairs.
Common questions about the Toyota Camry
How often does a Toyota Camry need an oil change?
Every 10,000 miles or 12 months on synthetic for the 2.5L, but 5,000 if you do lots of short trips.
Does a Camry Hybrid need special maintenance?
Yes — it has a separate inverter coolant loop and a traction-battery cooling filter that should be cleaned periodically. Both are commonly skipped.
Is Camry transmission fluid lifetime?
No. Plan to change it around 60,000 miles even though Toyota markets it as long-life.